The Third ODI 2021 SAvPAK | Who Won And Who Lost?

The Third ODI 2021 SAvPAK | Who Won And Who Lost?

In the decisive match of the three-match series played at Centurion, South Africa won the toss and invited Pakistan to bat.

Pakistan defeated South Africa by 28 runs in the third and decisive ODI of the series to win the series. Pakistan gave South Africa a target of 321 runs to win the decisive ODI thanks to excellent batting by Fakhr Zaman and Babar Azam.

Which team won the toss?

In the last match of the series being played at Centurion, South Africa won the toss and elected to field which proved to be beneficial for Pakistan and both the openers gave a good start.

Who was the opener from Pakistan?

Openers Fakhr Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq put on a fine partnership of 112 runs, but Imam-ul-Haq was caught for 57 runs. After that, captain Babar Azam came to the crease to accompany Fakhr Zaman and completed 200 runs to advance the team's score.

Fakhr Zaman once again batted brilliantly and scored a century with the help of 9 fours and 3 sixes, after which he also returned to the pavilion. Mohammad Rizwan stayed on the wicket for a few minutes and scored only 2 runs for the total score of 214.

Sarfraz Ahmed looked in good form but his innings was limited to only 13 runs and he gave the same catch on the ball of JJ Smuts.

The Pakistani team had not yet recovered from the loss that Faheem Ashraf would have made only one in the next over with which the Pakistan team lost the fifth wicket.

Captain Babar Azam once again completed his half century by playing a brilliant turn.

Muhammad Nawaz also failed to take advantage of the opportunity and after scoring only 4 runs became the second wicket of Eden Markram.

The Pakistani team could not score runs fast due to the wickets falling from time to time in the last ten overs. However, in the last two overs, Pakistan played aggressively and Hassan Ali and Babar Azam rained sixes and scored 43 runs in two overs.


Hassan Ali's four sixes

Hassan Ali hit four sixes in the 49th over of the innings while Babar hit two sixes and a four in the 50th over. On the last ball of the innings, Babar Azam needed 6 runs to complete the century but he was caught at the boundary in an attempt to hit a six.

Pakistan scored 320 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated overs

Babar scored 94 off 82 balls with the help of three sixes and seven fours while Hassan Ali played an aggressive innings of 32 off 11 balls. In pursuit of the target, Janman Milan started the innings with Aiden Mercrum and both gave their team a good start of 54 runs.

Pakistan's first victory came from Shaheen Shah Afridi when 18-run scorer Eden Markram caught Sarfraz Ahmed behind the wickets. When the score reached 77, Usman Qadir, playing the first ODI of his career, took the first wicket by walking JJ Smiths, who scored 17 runs.

After losing two wickets, Milan's captain Temba Bauma came to the rescue and the two formed a 50-run partnership to take the score to 127. Muhammad Nawaz, who played the first match of the series at this stage, moved Pakistan to a strong position in the match by moving Milan and Bauma in the same over. Milan scored 77 and Bauma scored 20 runs.

The next blow to South Africa came when Noz added a few runs to move Henry Klaassen to give Pakistan their fifth victory. After losing five wickets, the duo of Andeel Falcao and Kyle Warren came together on the wicket and both batted responsibly to complete their team's double century.


Falcao and Warren put on a 108-run stand for the sixth wicket to bring their team back into the match. At this stage, it seemed that these two players could have succeeded in giving victory to South Africa, but Harris Rauf ended Warin's innings and turned the tide on the hopes of the host team, Warin hit 3 sixes and as many fours. Make 62 runs with the help.

Fellowship was also not tolerated by his teammate and he too went on to add 3 runs to the total, scoring 54 runs while scoring a half-century. Bjorn Hendricks also managed to score only one run while Shaheen Shah Afridi scattered the wickets of 19-run Kashyap Maharaj.

In the last over of the match, Shaheen dismissed Daryl DePavilin to lead Pakistan to victory in the match and the series. For Pakistan, Muhammad Nawaz was the most successful bowler with three wickets for 34 runs while Shaheen Shah Afridi also took three wickets and Haris Rauf two.

Thanks to the victory in the match, Pakistan also won the three-match series 1-2. Both teams were composed of these players for the match.


List of Pakistan Player

  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Usman Qadir
  • Fakhr Zaman
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Fahim Ashraf
  • Hassan Ali
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Haris Rauf


List South Africa Player

  • Temba Bavuma (captain)
  • Aiden Markram
  • Janneman Malan
  • Jon-Jon Smuts
  • Kyle Verreynne
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Daryn Dupavillon
  • Beuran Henoricks
  • Lutho Sipamla