Muhammad Hafeez out of the national squad for T20 series against South Africa

Muhammad Hafeez out of the national squad

A 20-member Pakistan squad has been announced for the three-match T20 series against South Africa, excluding senior batsman Mohammad Hafeez.

According to a statement issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board, chief selector Wasim Khan announced the 20-member national team for the three T20 matches against South Africa.

It should be noted that 3 T20 matches will be played between Pakistan and South Africa in Lahore.

The first match of the series between the two teams will be played at Qaddafi Stadium in Lahore on February 11, the second on February 13 and the third on February 14.

Muhammad Hafeez, a senior batsman of the national team and a great performer in the last New Zealand series, has not been included in the 20-member squad announced today.

It is to be noted that in the T20 series played in New Zealand last month, Mohammad Hafeez had shown excellent performance and was not out after scoring 99 runs in a match.

In addition, the French news agency AFP reported that Mohammad Hafeez, 40, has scored 502 runs in the last 12 T20 Internationals with a strike rate of 153 at an average of 100.40.

However, the chief selector said in a press conference today that there was no question about Hafeez's performance but he did not reveal his availability to enter the squad's biosecure environment on February 3.

The statement said that the squad along with the officials will enter the biosecure bubble from Wednesday, February 3, while the players in the Test series will be part of this bubble at the end of the second test match.

It may be recalled that the second Test match between Pakistan and South Africa will start on February 4 in Rawalpindi. In the first Test, the Pakistani team had defeated South Africa by 7 wickets.

The Pakistani squad consists of these players in the T20 series against South Africa starting February 11.

Babar Azam (Captain), Amir Yameen, Ahmed Butt, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Fahim Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hassan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdal Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Zafar Gohar and Zahid Mahmood are part of the squad.