Who won the 1st T20 Match? | PakvsZim

Who won the 1st T20 Match? | PakvsZim

Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by 11 runs in the first T20 match to take a 1-0 lead in the series thanks to the excellent performance of Mohammad Rizwan and the bowlers.

Pakistan's innings did not start well and the hero and captain of the series against South Africa, Babar Azam, went on to score just two runs.

  • First T20: Rizwan's excellent batting, Pakistan won by 11 runs
  • Fakhr Zaman played a 13-run innings as well as a 34-run partnership for the second wicket, but then fell victim to Medveira and returned to the pavilion.
  • Danish Aziz and Rizwan stopped losing wickets for a while and formed a 34-run partnership for the fourth wicket, after which Danish's 15-run innings also came to an end.
  • Haider Ali's call remained silent this time too and he managed to score only five runs while the innings of all-rounders Faheem Ashraf and Muhammad Nawaz were limited to one and nine runs respectively.
  • Mohammad Rizwan, who watched his teammates return to the pavilion one after the other with frustration from the other end, completed another half-century.

On one occasion, Pakistan scored 124 runs in 18 overs, but in the last two overs, the wicket-keeper-batsman batted aggressively to give Pakistan access to a more reasonable total, and ultimately these runs proved to be the real difference in the match.

Pakistan scored 149 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted overs

In pursuit of the target, the openers gave Zimbabwe a 21-run lead, but on this occasion, Mohammad Hasnain gave Pakistan two consecutive victories to move Madhuvera and Tadionashe Marumani. After losing two wickets, Craig Irwin came to the rescue of Tanasha Kaman Hukmo, and both the players played a responsible game and established a partnership of 56 runs.

Taking important wickets from rival captains Sean Williams and Regis Chakaboa to make it difficult for Zimbabwe to reach the target. Ryan Burrell and Luke Jongwe completed their team's century by showing some hands but Harris ended Burrell's innings to give Pakistan its seventh victory. Zimbabwe needed 20 runs in the last over to win but Haris Rauf allowed them to score only 8 runs and thus Pakistan won the match by 11 runs.

  • With the victory in the match, the national team also took a 1-0 lead in the series.
  • Mohammad Rizwan was declared the best player of the match for his victorious performance.

Both teams consisted of the following players:

Pakistan Team:

  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Fakhr Zaman
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Haider Ali
  • Danish Aziz
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Fahim Ashraf
  • Usman Qadir
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Haris Rauf


Zimbabwean Team:

  • Sean Williams (captain)
  • Tinashe Kamohkamawe
  • Wesley Madhyoure
  • Tadivanashe Marumani
  • Craig Irwin
  • Ryan Burrell
  • Regis Chalkboard
  • Luke Jongwe
  • Wellington Masakadza
  • Blessing Mazarbani
  • Richard Nirawa

Zimbabwe announces 15-member squad for T20 series against Pakistan

Zimbabwe has announced their squad for the T20 series against Pakistan and three new players have been added to the squad. The 15-member squad will continue to be led by Sean Williams and will include three newcomers, batsman Tadi Vanashe Marumani, fast bowler Tanaka Cheung and Tapiva Mafudza.

  • The series will also feature Zimbabwe's veterans Brendon Taylor and Craig Irwin, both of whom were unavailable to the team in the previous series.
  • Fast bowler Luke Jongwe has also been included in the 15-member squad that last represented Zimbabwe in 2016.

The three T20 matches between Pakistan and Zimbabwe will be played in Harare on April 21, 23, and 25, respectively, and spectators will not be allowed to enter the stadium.